Department of Physics

Department of Physics
Starts from:Fri, June 30, 2017 9:30AM - 4:00PM
Campus Location

Course Feature
  • Number of Teachers 7
  • Success Rate of Students (%) 80
  • Number of Books in the Department Library 4500
Class Description

The department of Physics in S.V. College was established in the year 1962 with Undergraduate Classes. The department was headed by Dr. J.P.S. Rana and other teaching staff was Mr. S.K. Mathur, Dr. V. P. Varshney and Mr. S.N. Gaur. Mr. S.K. Mathur after a short period left the department. The department was later on joined by Dr. R. P. Singh and Dr. V. P. Gupta. The department made considerable progress during the period from 1966 to 1973 as under graduate department.
The department was elevated to post graduate level in Sept. 1973 and in the year 1974 Dr. D. K. Gupta was appointed as Reader and Head of the department and Mr. S. K. Varshney was appointed as lecturer in the department. Under the dynamic and experienced leadership of Dr. D. K. Gupta, department progressed very fast in the field of academic and research activities and hence the department acquired and important position among al the colleges of whole of the University. During this period where on the one hand department was progressing in the field of academic activities on the other hand the department received many grants from UGC, CSIR, Department of Science and Technology, States of U.P. and NCERT in order to enhance activities in the field of Research