Brief Overview

The Department of Law was established with a strength of 20 students of LL.B. in the year 1947 with the efforts of Late Shri Mishri Lal, Advocate and Late Shri Bankey Lal, founder of this college and Shri Dharmpal Varshney as the Head of the Department and Shri Makkhan Lal as a Lecturer. Shri Harish Chandra Gupta and Shri Brajkishor Varshney, an eminent Civil Lawyer joined the department as lecturers. Later Shri Deoki Nandan also joined the department and became the Head of the department. Law Students Association was framed under his tenure in 1973. Several programmes were organized under the banner of the association. Later the department was joined by Shri Shiv Charan Singh Yadav, Dr. J. P. Gupta, Shri Bhikam Pal Singh, Dr. V. N. Kaushik, Dr. Kaushal Kishore, Dr. Shribabu and Dr. Seema Yadav. At present Dr. Seema Yadav is the Head of the Department and is well assisted by Dr. Farid Khan, Dr. Shah Razik Khalid, Mr. Khursheed Alam Khan, Mr. Lal Singh, Mr. Ratan Kumar Patel, Mr. Atul Arora and Mrs. Naipali.

Student and Teacher strength – Department of law is a graduate department having a strength of 466 students with 12 sanctioned posts. At present one retired teacher and seven regular teachers are serving in the department.

Curriculum Planning and Implementation – The department offers only 3year LL.B. course. Various academic activities are performed by the department such as visit to Lok Adalat at District Court, Extension Lectures by eminent jurists, Moot Court and Legal Aid Camp etc. as per the academic calendar and syllabus prescribed by Dr. B. R. Ambedkar University, Agra as well as by the Bar Council of India norms. To achieve this target, a detailed annual plan is prepared at the beginning of the session.

Learning Resources - The department of law has a separate building, having a separate library as well as a separate office. There are a number of unique and leading books in the library both in Hindi and English medium. Many national and international journals are there is the library.

Additional Study Material – Class notes, assignments and other study materials are provided to the students by the department to upgrade their knowledge. Moot Court is also performed by LL.B. third year students regularly. The department also helps to collect reference through E-library.

Assessment – Regular assessment of the students through class tests, group discussions as well as tutorials are held by the department. The department also organizes several discussions on socio-legal issues.

Learning Outcome – The department has a consistent outcome with a good pass percentage which also includes many selections in various competitive exams like PCS(J), APO, PCS (E).

Best Practices –Beside the lecture method, other teaching techniques are also adopted by the department such as visit to Lok Adalat, Jail and to Honourable Supreme Court. The department also organizes Legal Aid Camps at village level. Two extension lectures are delivered by eminent jurists.

Feedback from Stakeholders – For the purpose of improvement in the quality of education, feedback from students as well as parents is taken.

Research of Publication – Teachers of the department are actively engaged in research activities and have several research papers in many reputed national and international journals.

Dr. Seema Yadav

Associate Professor and Head of Department

Dr. Farid Khan

Associate Professor

Dr. Shah Rajiq Khalid

Associate Professor

Mr. Khursheed Alam Khan

Assistant Professor

Mr. Lal Singh

Assistant Professor

Mr. Ratan Patel

Assistant Professor

Mr. Atul Arora

Assistant Professor

Mrs. Naipali

Assistant Professor